I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 119

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer

Edward J. B. Calvo
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
B. J.F. Cruz
Mike Cruz
Mark Forbes
R. Klitzkie
L. A. Leon Guerrero
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Ray Tenorio

Relative to recognizing January 2006 as 'Youth Year' entitled "Youth: Our Life, Our Future" and the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs in supporting the youth.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I

- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs (DYA) was established in
- 4 1978 to help troubled youth progress back into the community and to become
- 5 better citizens through rehabilitation and treatment programs; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs initiated "Youth Month"
- 7 better known today as "Youth Year" to guide and assist various schools to

- 1 demonstrate their skills in promoting programs throughout the year for
- 2 youth; and
- 3 **WHEREAS**, the Department of Youth Affairs organized a Youth Central
- 4 Planning Committee (CPC), with the aid of students, creating this years'
- 5 theme entitled, "Youth: Our Life, Our Future;" and
- 6 WHEREAS, this year, student representatives from Notre Dame High
- 7 School had the distinction of chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee
- 8 through the Department of Youth Affairs; and
- 9 **WHEREAS**, the Youth Central Planning Committee consists of student
- 10 representatives from the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Evangelical
- 11 Christian Academy, Father Duenas Memorial School, Bishop Baumgartner
- 12 Memorial School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam International Christian
- 13 Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Santa Barbara School, San Vicente
- 14 School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul
- 15 Christian School, Temple Bible School, Mt. Carmel School, Trinity Christian
- 16 School, George Washington High School, Southern High School, Simon A.
- 17 Sanchez High School, John F. Kennedy High School, DODEA Guam High
- 18 School, Guam Community College, University of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston
- 19 Middle School, Jose Rios Middle School, DODEA South Middle School,
- 20 Andersen Middle School, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Inarajan Middle
- 21 School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Oceanview Middle School, Vicente A.
- 22 Benavente Middle School, and the Guam Youth Congress, all of whom have
- 23 been invaluable assets in conducting activities, including the Youth Spirit
- 24 Wave, Proclamation Signing, Theme/Poster Contest, Student Exchange

- 1 Program, Oratorical Contest, Talent Showcase, Youth Carnival, Community
- 2 Building Project-Penny Drive, and the Island Leadership Day; and
- 3 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs employees recognize the
- 4 importance of engaging our islands youth through activities that foster
- 5 positive attitudes to improve our islands collective future; now, therefore, be
- 6 it
- 7 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Ocho Na
- 8 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 9 people of Guam, recognize 'Youth Year 2006' entitled "Youth: Our Life, Our
- 10 Future" and continues to support the efforts of the Department of Youth
- 11 Affairs for its involvement in supporting our islands youth; and be it further
- 12 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee I Mina' Bente Ocho Na
- 13 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- people of Guam, also recognizes the student advisors, parents, and student
- 15 representatives through the heads of their respective schools, namely the
- 16 Notre Dame High School, Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Evangelical
- 17 Christian Academy, Father Duenas Memorial School, Bishop Baumgartner
- 18 Memorial School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam International Christian
- 19 Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Santa Barbara School, San Vicente
- 20 School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul
- 21 Christian School, Temple Bible School, Mt. Carmel School, Trinity Christian
- School, George Washington High School, Southern High School, Simon A.
- 23 Sanchez High School, John F. Kennedy High School, DODEA Guam High
- School, Guam Community College, University of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston
- 25 Middle School, Jose Rios Middle School, DODEA South Middle School,

- 1 Andersen Middle School, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Inarajan
- 2 Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Oceanview Middle School,
- 3 Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Speaker of the Guam Youth
- 4 Congress, for their contributions in the Youth Year 2006, entitled "Youth:
- 5 Our Life, Our Future" and continues to support the efforts of the
- 6 Department of Youth Affairs for its involvement in supporting our islands
- 7 youth; and be it further
- 8 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 9 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 10 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr.
- 11 Christopher M. Duenas, Director, Department of Youth Affairs; Mr. Pascual
- 12 V. Artero, Program Coordinator III, Department of Youth Affairs; Ms. Rebecca
- 13 J. Respicio, Program Coordinator II, Department of Youths Affairs;
- 14 Department of Youth Affairs Youth Central Planning Committee, the
- 15 Principal of the Academy of Our Lady of Guam; the Principal of the
- 16 Evangelical Christian Academy; the Principal of the Father Duenas Memorial
- 17 School; the Principal of the Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School; the
- 18 Principal of the Guam Adventist Academy; the Principal of the Guam
- 19 International Christian Academy; the Principal of the Harvest Christian
- 20 Academy; the Principal of the Santa Barbara School; the Principal of the San
- 21 Vicente School; the Principal of the St. Anthony School; the Principal of the St.
- 22 Francis School; the Principal of the St. John's School; the Principal of the St.
- 23 Paul Christian School; the Principal of the Temple Bible School; the Principal
- of the Mt. Carmel School; the Principal of the Trinity Christian School; the
- 25 Principal of the George Washington High School; the Principal of the

- 1 Southern High School; the Principal of the Simon A. Sanchez High School; the
- 2 Principal of the John F. Kennedy High School; the Principal of the DODEA
- 3 Guam High School; the President of the Guam Community College; the
- 4 President of the University of Guam; the Principal of the Agueda I. Johnston
- 5 Middle School; the Principal of the Jose Rios Middle School; the Principal of
- 6 the DODEA South Middle School; the Principal of the Andersen Middle
- 7 School; the Principal of the F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School; the Principal of
- 8 the Inarajan Middle School; the Principal of the L.P. Untalan Middle School;
- 9 the Principal of the Oceanview Middle School; the Principal of the Vicente A.
- 10 Benavente Middle School, and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I
- 11 Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 16TH DAY OF JANUARY 2006.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature